Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Guides to Historical Journals
Print Historical Journals
Tutt Library Bound Historical Journals
This is a complete list of the pre-1915 bound historical journals at Tutt Library. The journals, which are located on the second floor, are arranged alphabetically by title.
Tutt Library has print historical journals dating back to the mid-1800s. There are more than 400 titles located on the second floor of the library. For a full list of journal titles and dates, check out the Tutt Library Bound Historical Journals link.
Online Indexes to Historical Journals
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Coverage: 1890 - 1982. The premier index to popular periodicals. No full text links, but Tutt owns a large percentage of the magazines/journals indexed by this resource. Continued by Readers Guide Abstracts. Now on EBSCOHOST; H.W. Wilson platform no longer available as of 2/1/2012.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Coverage: 1200's-1930. Collection of dozens of indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Indexing coverage includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. Index to Nineteenth century historical periodicals. Government Documents Indices include indexes to: U.S. patents, 1790-1873; U.S. government publications, 1774-1881; British House of Commons and House of Lords, 1803-1830. Indexing also books, newspapers and periodicals. Links to full text in other databases, HathiTrust and Google Books.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu