Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find Journals by Title
You can see if Tutt Library subscribes to a journal by searching Find Journals. If the title you're looking for is available online in one of our databases, you'll be able to search within it to find articles.
Alternative Press Index
Alternative Press Index is a classic bibliographic database of articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API is now part of EBSCOHOST in two databases: Alternative Press Archives, 1969-1990; and Alternative Press Index, 1991-current. The link above will search both simultaneously; API is cross-searchable with other EBSCOHOST databases.
Gender Studies Database
Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, and freely available full text articles & documents on the Web.
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Online, full-text literary criticism, anthologized and excerpted from books and journal articles. Criticism of works published from the late Middle Ages through the end of the seventeenth century. Part of Literature Criticism Online.
MLA International Bibliography
Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
Oxford University Press Journals
A searchable collection of full text periodicals. Scholarly sources.
Academic Search Complete
Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Archival access to many scholarly, full-text articles.
Retrieves citations to a wide variety of research papers, thesis, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Check for possible full text by using Colorado College Links or Colorado College e-texts buttons next to the citations.
U.S. History Databases (Secondary Sources)
America, History and Life
Covers American History.
American Periodicals Series Online
Coverage: 1740-1940. Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. May be cross-searched with ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Coverage: 1700's-1900's. Selected manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Covers world history.
Humanities International Complete
A comprehensive humanities database with almost 500 full text titles, and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multidisciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
Project Muse provides access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals. Offers current and back issues.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Coverage: 1890 - 1982. The premier index to popular periodicals. No full text links, but Tutt owns a large percentage of the magazines/journals indexed by this resource. Continued by Readers Guide Abstracts. Now on EBSCOHOST; H.W. Wilson platform no longer available as of 2/1/2012.
Magazine/Journals @ Tutt
American Periodicals Online provides access to full text images of popular American newspapers, professional journals and magazines that began publication from 1740-1900.
The Economist HISTORICAL ARCHIVE 1843-2006. Digitized version of the famous magazine which has analyzed British and global affairs for 150+ years. For more recent issues of the Economist, please see the print version in Tutt Library or access through EBSCO.
Harper's Weekly provides access to images of all the pages in Harper's Weekly from 1857 to 1912. Everything in this publication has been indexed. You can even exclusively search the advertisements or illustrations.
The Nation Microfilm: v.1-211(1865-1970) Tutt Library 2nd floor
Find the Full Text
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Tutt Link FAQs
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Nearly 50 percent of articles requested through ILL arrive in 24-48 hours. Sign up now for an account!
Use all variations of a keyword.
Words change over time. Today we say Civil War but, in the past, it has been called the
- American Civil War
- War between the States
- War of Secession
- War of the Rebellion
If you searched only the term Civil War, you might miss valuable documents written during a different era.
The Library of Congress Authorities and Vocabularies thesaurus will help you find variations of keywords and subject headings.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu