In the years before World War I, the great European powers were ruled by three first cousins: King George V, Kaiser Wilhelm II, and Tsar Nicholas II. Carter uses the cousins' correspondence and a host of historical sources to tell their tragicomic stories
The AJRP aims to provide a resource for historians and others interested in the Australia-Japan relationship, especially in war, from 1901 to 1957. It contains a database of historic materials, several research essays and seminar papers, and various research aids, including glossaries and thesauri of geographical and military terms.
The University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries' digital World War I collection offers a rich array of primary-source material relating to the War selected from the World War I "Pamphlets" Collection housed in the CU Archives. The collection consists of over 1,200 individual titles representing a staggering range of genres, authors, geopolitical units, and subject matter.
This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
This page links to original source materials pertaining to World War II, and in particular to the Pacific War. Included are links to a report produced in 1946 by the Manhattan Engineer District about the Hiroshima and Nagasaki atomic bombings, government documents about Pearl Harbor, and an FBI report about Tokyo Rose.
Primary source materials on the Web. Original documents regarding all aspects of the war. Includes The JAPANESE MONOGRAPHS, A series of 187 studies on Japan's role in WWII, written by Japanese participants in the events at the request of the US Government.
U.S. History: Ephemera, Diaries, Oral History, Manuscripts and More
Coverage: 1740-1940. Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. May be cross-searched with ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Coverage: 1700 - 2006.
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,200+ sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes non-fiction works, interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material. Also includes the Black Panther newspaper from 1967-1980. Allows for advanced browsing and searching. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
Warexperience.org is dedicated to acquiring and preserving the firsthand experiences of military veterans and civilians impacted by war. Its primary goal is to record videotaped interviews to allow veterans the opportunity to recount their experiences in their own words, and to make those experiences available to future generations through archival projects, internet distribution and television documentary productions.
From the Library of Congress. Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
Coverage: 1719 - 1976.
Growing collection of writings of women from the 18th-20th centuries, drawn from the American Antiquarian Society. Offers advanced browsing and searching, and high-quality scans. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
Coverage: 1784 - 2004.
100,00 pages of letters, diaries, oral histories, interviews and other personal narratives by 2,000+ authors. Some audio recordings are available. Material is organized for advanced browsing and searching. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
Coverage: 1675 - 2002.
150,000+ pages of diaries and letters from over 1,300 women, supplemented with biographies and bibliographies. Browse and search by detailed factors like author, race, occupation, age at first childbirth, year written, and geographical setting. Cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
Coverage: 1890 - 1982.
The premier index to popular periodicals. No full text links, but Tutt owns a large percentage of the magazines/journals indexed by this resource. Continued by Readers Guide Abstracts.
Coverage: 1558 - 2005.
Cross-searchable collection of databases containing letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs and autobiographies. The focus is on personal narratives written or published in North America. Offers advanced browsing and searching of date, place, author/speaker, interviewer, event, subject and more.
Indexes some or all materials of North American Women's Letters and Diaries; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; Black Thought and Culture; Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries.
This websource prototype of the University of California History Digital Archives provides access to a growing collection of digitized historical documents, images and materials, along with past and current analysis on the history of the UC.
Coverage: 1600 - 2000.
Growing collection of documents related to women and social movements in U.S. history. Includes primary source documents, images, dictionary of movements, biographical dictionary, chronology, reviews, notes, and teaching tools. Organized for in-depth browsing and searching.
from the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) of the American Library Association (ALA)
Google Scholar can be used to find primary sources. Click on the arrow to the right of the search box to open the Advanced Scholar Search window.
Use a Secondary Source to Find a Primary Source
A bibliography from a good secondary source is a fast, easy way to find primary sources.
Magazine/Journals @ Tutt
American Periodicals Online provides access to full text images of popular American newspapers, professional journals and magazines that began publication from 1740-1900.
The EconomistHISTORICAL ARCHIVE1843-2006. Digitized version of the famous magazine which has analyzed British and global affairs for 150+ years. For more recent issues of the Economist, please see the print version in Tutt Library or access through EBSCO.
Harper's Weekly provides access to images of all the pages in Harper's Weekly from 1857 to 1912. Everything in this publication has been indexed. You can even exclusively search the advertisements or illustrations.
The Nation Microfilm: v.1-211(1865-1970) Tutt Library 2nd floor