Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Free Sources of Statistics
U.S. Education statistics:
U.S. statistics, general:
- GSS: General Social Survey
- GSS at NORC (National Opinion Research Center) - download large data sets for analysis
- GSS at Berkeley SDA (Survey Documentation and Analysis) - compare specific variables
- U.S. Census:
- U.S. Federal Statistics: FedStats
Coverage: 1967 - current. Books, journals, working papers, statistics, and glossaries published by the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). Users can search by country, theme, date, content type, and more. The OECD FactBook is available from 2005 to current, with data tables and graphs that can be exported to Excel. This database was formerly known as SourceOECD.
Gather your own statistics with surveys
Qualtrics is a survey tool that Colorado College subscribes to. Sign up at any time using your CC email address.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
Coverage: 1600s - current. Annual time series of the U.S. population, economic indicators, social conditions, and government. From colonial times to the present.
ICPSR: International Consortium for Political and Social Research
Coverage: N/A. Provides large data sets such as public opinion polls, attitude surveys, health information, results of research projects. Data may require use of specialized software such as SPSS or SAS.
International Historical Statistics
Coverage: 1750-2010. Online version of the 3 volume set contains key economic and social indicators for countries around the world. Data sets are available for download in Excel and PDF format.
Coverage: 1935 to present. U.S. and international poll data on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Replaces Gallup Brain subscription.
Colorado College is a member of ICPSR, the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Science Research. ICPSR provides an archive of hundreds of thousands of data files in the field of social research, along with data analysis and learning tools.
Register for a MyData account on campus and you'll be able to access ICPSR from off campus.
Login or Register
IRB at Colorado College
Includes links to the IRB Application and MAT Educational Research Exemption Determination Form as well as tips and an example of a high-quality application.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu