Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find Full Text Articles
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (Tutt's bound periodicals)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Tutt Link FAQs
Create a Keyword List
The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.
- Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
- Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
- Try boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to link your terms together into a single search.
- Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
- Search Google Books for keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.
You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.
Databases for Biology
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines.
Coverage: 1950 - current. Journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine.
Coverage: 1998 - current. An aggregation of full-text research journals including biological, ecological and environmental sciences published by small scholarly societies. Peer-reviewed.
Coverage: varies. Full-text articles online from Elsevier and Academic Press journals. Summary information about articles from all other Elsevier titles and some other publishers. Coverage includes all science areas and many social sciences and humanities areas.
Encyclopedia of life sciences
Features signed, peer-reviewed entries covering cell, molecular, and structural biology, microbiology, genetics, neuroscience, and plant science.
JSTOR Global Plants
Database of plant specimens contributed by herbaria. Also includes botany-related primary sources.
Other Biology Databases
General science abstracts
Coverage: 1984 - current. Covers such subjects as anthropology, astronomy, biology, computers, earth sciences, mathematics, medicine and health, and much more.
History of science, technology and medicine
Coverage: N/A. An international bibliography for the history of science, technology and medicine, reflecting the influence of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Coverage: 1990's - current. Online access to 20 Annual Reviews series covering biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Please note: we subscribe to a subset of the Annual Reviews, and may not have access to the earliest volume for each title.
Coverage: 1982 - current. This resource covers 'all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.'
Coverage: varies. Scholarly and popular articles, government documents and reports from over 600 titles dealing with the interaction between humans and the environment.
Coverage: 1975 - current. Covering all aspects of sport, fitness, recreation, and related fields.
Encyclopedia of pain
Coverage: N/A. A guide to the understanding of the broad, multi-faceted and complex topic of pain.
Coverage: N/A. PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes millions of citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. It is the public version of Medline and links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the
names of popular authors.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu