Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

English: Get Started

Start here for links to article databases and other online resources, along with tips for finding what you need in Tutt Library. Also has links to citation and style guides.

We want to help!

No one is born knowing how to use a library for college research. All of us at Tutt Library are ready to help you with your research whether you are a first year student or a tenured professor. 

All English guides

Image

Young Scholar in His Study: Melancholy

c. 1630
Oil on panel, 46 x 34 cm
Musée des Beaux-Arts, Lille

Get started with Tiger

Search TIGER for

Tiger is the CC library catalog; use it to find books, DVDs, and other things in our local collection. For more on Tiger and for ways to get books from other libraries, see the "Find Books" tab, above.

Getting started in research for English

Search the Tiger catalog by "author" to find works by that author. Search the author's name as "subject" to find works about that author. In both cases, enter the name as last, first, such as "Melville, Herman".

MLA International Bibliography and JSTOR (below) are good places to start looking for criticism.

Get started finding articles

The MLA International Bibliography is the most extensive database we have for finding articles (and book chapters, and books) about literature. It doesn't have a lot of full-text articles, so don't forget to click the "TuttLink" find full-text icon to see how to get the article you want.

JSTOR is easy to search and has almost entirely full-text articles, but searches a limited number of journals.

For more appropriate databases and ideas for effective searching, see the "Find Articles" tab, above.

Humanities Librarian

Steve Lawson's picture
Steve Lawson
Contact:
1021 N. Cascade Ave.
Colorado Springs CO 80903
719-389-6857
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu