Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

HY200 Topics in History: Urban History: Find Articles

Find the Full Text

  Searches for
Full Text

If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.

Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available

1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan 

Tutt Link FAQs

Create A Keyword List

The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.

  • Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
  • Try the Search Generator from Northwest Missouri State University to help you create a keyword search.
    • Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
    • Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
    • Search Google Books for keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.

      You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.

      General Databases

      The following general databases are a good place to start your research. However, you should also check out the Best Bets page of this guide for a list of select databases that target your assignment and links to related subject guides.

      Keyword Searching

      Use the Search Generator from Northwest Missouri State University to help you create a keyword search. 

                              Using AND/OR/NOT (Boolean Search Operators)

      AND

      Use AND to focus search and combine different aspects of your topic.

      Example: vegetarianism and environmen
      OR

      Use OR to expand your search and find synonyms/related terms.

      Example: global warming or climate change

      NOT

      Use NOT to exclude a word or phrase from your search

      Example: emissions trading not United States

       

      Additional Search Tips

      "Phrase search"  - Use quotation marks (" ") to search for a particular phrase.

      Example: "greenhouse gas emissions"

      Truncation * - Use an asterisk to find variations of a word. Put an asterisk following the root of the word to find all variations of that word, including singular and plural.

      Example: environment* (finds environments, environmental, environmentalist, etc.

      (Grouping/Nesting Keywords) - Use parentheses ( ) as a way to group all your search terms together.

      Example: (climate change or global warming) and population growth

      Urban History and Design Subject Headings

      The Library of Congress uses the following subject headings for books about urban design and city planning. Your best bet is to do a subject search using these headings, but you may also want to do a keyword search too.

      • Cities and towns
      • City and town life
      • City planners
      • City planning
      • City planning - Environmental aspects
      • City planning - United States - Case studies
      • City planning - United States - History
      • Gentrification - United States
      • Housing
      • Inner cities
      • Neighborhoods -- United States
      • Public housing
      • Regional planning
      • Residential mobility
      • Sociology, Urban
      • Suburbs
      • Sustainable development
      • Urban beautification
      • Urban communities
      • Urban policy
      • Urban renewal
      • Urbanization
      Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu