Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

MU221 Cuban Music: Find Scores

Study Guide for Cuban Music class

Looking for a composer?

If you want to find works by a composer, do an AUTHOR search in the Tiger catalog.  This will bring up anything she has created (scores, recordings, writings, etc).

 

If you want to find out about a composer, do a SUBJECT search. 

 

IMPORTANT!!  You must use the convention of Last Name, First Name when using these 2 searches!

Many living composers have websites with sound files and biographical information.

Search Tips

Generally

  • You'll find books about music in Tutt Library.
  • You'll find examples of music (scores, media) in the Music Library.

Use Advanced Search in Tiger and the most specific information that you have, such as key, opus number, or thematic index number of  piece:

Mozart   K. 622

Subject Searches

  • Use the plural for examples of musical works:

           Operas

  • Use singular for information about a musical work:         

           Opera

Use the uniform title of a work to discover all versions of the work.

You can use Prospector to order materials that are either checked out or not owned by the campus libraries.

  • Access to materials (scores, books, CDs, DVDs, etc.) throughout Colorado and Wyoming
  • Materials arrive in 3-5 business days

To widen your search, use WorldCat to locate scores that we don't own.  You can order these through interlibrary loan.

Finding Scores

In Tiger Catalog 

 

We do have a few scores of Cuban music. Your best bet is to perform a WORD search, Cuba* Music* (see Truncation, below) and then modify your search to select SCORES.

You can also search TIGER for composers and performers. See Looking for a composer? in the box to the left for some search hints. 

Internet Resources 

  • IMSLP Petrucci Music Library
    A digital music library, free printing allowed. It aspires to collecting all public domain music, as well as music by living composers willing to share their works. On the left side of the page, select NATIONALITY from the BROWSE SCORES box. This will bring up a few composers.
  • Diaz-Ayala Cuban and Latin American Popular Music Collection
    The world's largest collection of Cuban music. The website includes a discography of 20th-century Cuban music and a growing digital collection of biographies with recording samples and cultural contexts.

  • Sheet Music Consortium
    A huge collection of digitized sheet music collections from many universities and other sources. You'll find some Cuban music here.

Additional Search Tips

Additional Search Tips

"Phrase search" - Use quotation marks (" ") to search for a particular phrase.

Example: "greenhouse gas emissions"

Truncation * - Use an asterisk to find variations of a word. Put an asterisk following the root of the word to find all variations of that word, including singular and plural.

Example: danc* (finds dance, dances, dancing, dancers, etc.)

(Grouping/Nesting Keywords) - Use parentheses ( ) as a way to group all your search terms together.

Example: (Cuba or Haiti) and immigration.

Scores and Sheet Music Databases

 

 

 

  • Online Resources for Music Scholars
    "provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites."

 

  • Digital Librarian: Scores
    A collection of internet resources reviewed by librarians for their authoritativeness and usability.

 

 

  • Choral Public Domain Library
    Free, public domian choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.

  • Orchestral Music Online
    A great reference resource on symphonic literature, containing about 6700 works by 900 composers. This is the online version of David Daniel's classic print resource.  This database is searchable by timings, instrumentation, available editions, soloists, and choruses.

 

  • IMSLP Petrucci Music Library
    A digital music library, free printing allowed. It aspires to collecting all public domain music, as well as music by living composers willing to share their works.  It's a Canadian site, so adheres to stricter copyright regulations than the United States.

 

  • Sheet Music Consortium
    A huge collection of digitized sheet music collections from many universities and other sources.

     

  • Theme Finder
    Themefinder provides search access to a database containing tens of thousands of short melodies and musical incipits, allowing you to identify common themes in Western classical music, Folksongs, and latin Motets of the sixteenth century.

Music Librarian

Daryll Stevens's picture
Daryll Stevens
Contact:
The fastest way to reach me is via the "Email Me" link above. You may also reach me at 389-6126, or 389-6560
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu