Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

MU221 Cuban Music: Find Articles

Study Guide for Cuban Music class

Find the Full Text

  Searches for
Full Text

If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.

Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available

1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan 

Different Approaches for Different Databases

Databases have unique features that impact searching. The more aware you are about the differences, the better you'll be able to make the most out of each database.

    • What makes one database more appealing than the other?
    • What are some good points about the one you don't like as much?

 

 

 

       JSTOR       Music Index
  • all subjects
  • all full text articles
  • searches full text of articles
  • Google-style searching
  • only music topics
  • some full text, mostly citations
  • logical searching (uses AND/OR)
  • includes journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc.

Keyword Searching

Use the Search Generator from Northwest Missouri State University to help you create a keyword search. 

                        Using AND/OR/NOT (Boolean Search Operators)

AND

Use AND to focus search and combine different aspects of your topic.

Example: vegetarianism and environmen
OR

Use OR to expand your search and find synonyms/related terms.

Example: global warming or climate change

NOT

Use NOT to exclude a word or phrase from your search

Example: emissions trading not United States

 

Additional Search Tips

"Phrase search"  - Use quotation marks (" ") to search for a particular phrase.

Example: "greenhouse gas emissions"

Truncation * - Use an asterisk to find variations of a word. Put an asterisk following the root of the word to find all variations of that word, including singular and plural.

Example: environment* (finds environments, environmental, environmentalist, etc.

(Grouping/Nesting Keywords) - Use parentheses ( ) as a way to group all your search terms together.

Example: (climate change or global warming) and population growth

Music Librarian

Daryll Stevens's picture
Daryll Stevens
Contact:
The fastest way to reach me is via the "Email Me" link above. You may also reach me at 389-6126, or 389-6560
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu