Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Get Started -- Reference Resources
Japan: an illustrated encyclopedia / Kodansha
Call Number: DS805 .J263 1993 (Second Floor - Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
Call Number: DS822.5 .E516 2002 (Second Floor -- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2001-12-14
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Japanese Culture
Call Number: DS822.5 .C365 2009 (Second Floor -- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2009-04-21
Routledge Handbook of Japanese Culture and Society
Call Number: DS822.5 .R68 2011 (Second Floor -- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2011-05-13
The Cambridge History of Japan
Call Number: DS835.C36 1988 (Second Floor -- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 1993-07-30
The Anime Encyclopedia
Call Number: NC1766.J3 C53 2015 (Second Floor -- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
Encyclopedia of Japanese Martial Arts
Call Number: GV1100.77.A2 H34 2012 (Garden Level -- General Collection)
Publication Date: 2013-02-22
Historical Dictionary of Modern Japanese Literature and Theater
Call Number: PL716 .M47 2009 (Second Floor -- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Conduct a combined search of the library catalog and most library databases through a single interface.
Find Articles -- Specific Databases
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
Coverage: varies. Project Muse Standard Collection of core scholarly titles from John Hopkins University. Offers current and back issues. Please note: we do not subscribe to the Premium Collection. We have access to most, but not all, Project Muse titles.
Asia-Studies Full-Text Online
Full-text reports from research institutions covering 50+ countries in the Asian-Pacific region. Topics include business, government, economics, social issues, and the humanities.
Find books and other resources in Tutt Library.
Find resources in libraries across the globe. (Allow 7 - 10 days for delivery.)
Retrieving an Article
Not all of our databases have full text, but that doesn't mean the article isn't available!
To find the article text:
will lead you to to the article (if the library has access), or interlibrary loan to request it.
You can also use Find Journals or Citation Linker to track down an article.
Ask a librarian if you need help!
Databases by Subject
Many topics in Asian Studies are interdisciplinary, so be sure to check out our subject guides to search for your topic in article databases focusing on history, art, sociology, and many other subjects.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu