Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
You can use LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe (linked below) to find Spanish-language news by clicking “News” and then "Foreign Language" in the sidebar, then choosing “Spanish” on the search screen. Remember to use Spanish words in your search.
Access World News: Research Collection
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century.
Latin American Newspapers
Coverage: 1805 - 1922. More than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Coverage: 1977 - current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles. NOT FOR WALK-IN USE PER LICENSE. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer.
When searching for articles, the database you choose will depend on your specific area of study. For literary studies, MLA International Bibliography will be the best database most of the time, while Historical Abstracts is the best overall database for world history. If your research is more about culture or politics, you will want to try Social Sciences Abstracts or see the research guides for Political Science, Sociology, or other subjects.
Again, remember to search English and Spanish terms. If you are searching only for articles in Spanish, use the “advanced search” screens and look for a “language” option where you can choose “Spanish.”
Coverage (articles published): 18th century - current. Covers world history (except for the United States and Canada: see America, History and Life for North American coverage).
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
Social Sciences Abstracts With Full Text
Coverage: 1972 - current. International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Broader coverage than SocIndex. Upgraded to full text version in July 2017.
, Art & Art History
, Book Studies
, Comparative Literature
, Film and Media
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu