Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Historic Colorado Newspapers
Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection
Search over 90 historic Colorado newspapers from 49 cities and 36 counties throughout the state, published in English, German, Spanish, or Swedish. The database includes digital versions of newspapers found on microfilm at the Colorado Historical Society’s Stephen H. Hart Library that were published between 1859 and 1928. New material is usually added once a month. Some issues of the Colorado Springs Gazette are included.
Colorado College Special Collections has single issues and short runs of about 100 Colorado Springs and Pikes Peak area newspapers from the 19th century to the present. Click here for a complete list of print newspapers held in Special Collections.
Coverage: 1800s Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Access World News: Research Collection
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Coverage: 1977 - current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles. NOT FOR WALK-IN USE PER LICENSE. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer.
Specific Colorado newspapers
Colorado Springs Gazette:
Rocky Mountain News:
Colorado Springs Independent
Colorado Springs Sun Paper:
- Paper: from Feb. 1947 – Feb. 26, 1986 (Incomplete) [separate records for the Free Press (Feb. 1947 – Apr. 1967), Colorado Springs Sun (Oct. 21, 1977 – Feb. 26, 1986)]
- Microfilm: from Jan. 1, 1967 – Feb. 28, 1986 [separate records for the Free Press (Jan. 1, 1967 – April 14, 1970), Colorado Springs Sun (Apr. 15, 1970 – Feb. 28, 1986)]
Do you need more one-on-one assistance? Please stop by the Reference Desk, located just inside the entrance to Tutt Library.
The Reference Desk is open:
Mon-Thurs, 9:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri, 9:00 am-5:00 pm
Sat, 10:00 am-5:00 pm
Sun, 10:00 am-10:00 pm
Hours are shorter when classes are not in session.
Other ways to contact us:
Mail or in person:
1021 N. Cascade Ave.
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu