Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Full text of 270 African American Newspapers from 35+ states. Covers topics such as life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment. Based on James P. Danky's bibliography "African-American Newspapers and Periodicals."
Ethnic American Newspapers 1799-1971
130+ digitized newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states. Covered topics include Japanese internment camps, significant immigration laws, and contributions of immigrants to American society. Emphasis is on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.
From the Library of Congress. Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers from around the world and in the U.S. (Most are free, some cost).
Newspaper databases with US coverage
Access World News: Research Collection
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Coverage: 1977-current. Access to newspaper articles from around the country. Can limit to a particular state's newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus
Coverage: 1969 - current. Full text for major U.S., regional U.S. and international newspapers, as well as full text transcripts from television and radio news. Upgraded to Newspaper Source Plus in July 2017.
Nineteenth-Century U.S. Newspapers
Coverage: 1800's. Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Specific National Newspapers
- Historical online: Atlanta Constitution Coverage: 1868 – 1929. “The Atlanta Constitution, historically known as ‘the voice of the new south.’ Contains first hand accounts of the Reconstruction period and post-war South” to early twentieth century. Full image and full text newspaper articles.
- Current coverage: Access World News provides text coverage from 1985 – present.
- Historical online: Chicago Tribune Coverage: 1849 – 1985. The Chicago Tribune is one of the nation’s oldest continuously published newspapers. Source for prohibition debates, mercantile development of the midwest, westward expansion, Settlement House Movement – Jane Addams, Al Capone. Full image and full text newspaper articles.
- Current coverage: LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe provides current text coverage from March 1, 2002 – present.
Los Angeles Times
New York Times
- In Tutt Library (1852 – ):
- Current issues kept until replaced by microfilm. See TIGER catalog record for details.
- Paper index (1851 – ) is located behind the newspapers on the second floor.
Wall Street Journal
- In Tutt Library (1981 – )
- Current issues of the Western Edition are kept in paper until replaced by microfiche of the Eastern Edition. See the TIGER catalog record for details.
- Paper index (1981 – ) is located behind the newspapers on the second floor.
Do you need more one-on-one assistance? Please stop by the Reference Desk, located just inside the entrance to Tutt Library.
The Reference Desk is open:
Mon-Thurs, 9:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri, 9:00 am-5:00 pm
Sat, 10:00 am-5:00 pm
Sun, 10:00 am-10:00 pm
Hours are shorter when classes are not in session.
Other ways to contact us:
Mail or in person:
1021 N. Cascade Ave.
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu