Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Online access to 20 Annual Reviews series covering biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
Encyclopaedia of Islam
Offers basic searching of the full-text of nearly 12,000 pages of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the print edition.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American studies. Online version of the print title, volume 1 - present. Multidisciplinary topics. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities International Complete
A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
Indexes books, journal articles, conference proceedings about Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
Journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. *Password required for full text. Contact Reference Desk x6662.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Web version of Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906. Index to Nineteenth century historical periodicals. Government Documents Indices include indexes to: U.S. patents, 1790-1873; U.S. government publications, 1774-1881; British House of Commons and House of Lords, 1803-1830.
Full-text articles online from Elsevier and Academic Press journals. Summary information about articles from all other Elsevier titles and some other publishers. Coverage includes all science areas and many social sciences and humanities areas.
Best Bets for Articles
Start your search for journal articles in these recommended databases.
TIP! Footnotes and bibliographies are the fastes way to find related materials and track popular authors.
AnthroSource is an online resource for core journals in the field of anthropology, developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Access complete archives of all AAA journals and current issues of 11 of the AAA's most popular journals, including American Anthropologist, Cultural Anthropology and American Ethnologist.
Anthropological literature: ANL
Indexes articles from approximately 900 journals in the fields of anthropology and archaeology.
eHRAF World Cultures
Includes full text of books, chapters, journal articles. Useful for Anthropology, Sociology, Religion, and Women Studies.
MLA International Bibliography
Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
Social Sciences Abstracts With Full Text
International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
Indexes core sociology journals dating back to 1895. More focused on sociology as a discipline than Sociological Abstracts.
Covers world history.
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
Project Muse provides access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals.
Archival, fulltext access to many scholarly periodicals with some dating back to the 1600s.
Academic Search Complete
Large interdisciplinary database with abstracts, indexing and full text.
Retrieves citations to a wide variety of research papers, thesis, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Check for possible full text by using Colorado College Links or Colorado College e-texts buttons next to the citations.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
A Note on Search Terms
Databases and catalogs can often use language that is offensive or outdated. Remember to try searching a variety of keywords-- even if it's not a term you prefer or would use yourself.
In the news: Library of Congress Drops Illegal Alien Subject Heading, Provokes Backlash Legislation
Prejudices and Antipathies
Call Number: Garden Level -- Z695.1.S6 B47 1993
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
Cruising the Library : Perversities in the Organization of Knowledge
Call Number: New Arrivals -- Z695 .A25 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-03
Find the Full Text
If a database doesn't have the full text of article, click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
|1) in another Tutt database
|2) in print (bound periodicals)
|3) through Interlibrary Loan using ILLiad
Find Journals by Title
You can see if Tutt Library subscribes to a journal by searching Journal Finder. If the title you're looking for is available online in one of our databases, you'll be able to search within it to find articles.
Sign Up for Illiad!
Get full text articles that the library doesn't have access to, for free. Don't wait until the last second; this usually takes 24-48 hours to fill a request.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu