Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
What is it?
International Political Economy (IPE),
or Global Political Economy
interdisciplinary analyses ultimately concerned with the ways in which political entities (states, institutions, or individuals, etc.) shape how economic activiy effect systems, and the inverse, the effect that economic interactions have upon political structures.
Liberal - freedom for private powers at the expense of public power/ government; markets, free from the distortions caused by government controls and regulation, will harmonise demand and supply of resources resulting in the best possible outcome for the majority
Realist (or "nationalist") - power of free markets to deliver favourable outcomes which are generally obtained with moderately strong public power exerting some regulatory control
Marxist - robust application of strong public power can check innate tendencies for private power to benefit elites at the expense of the majority
Constructivist - economic interaction is not value-free, economic and political identities along with material interests are key determinants of economic action
Ciao: Columbia International Affairs Online
Articles and papers relating to International Affairs.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Coverage: 1967 - current
- Books, journals, working papers, statistics, and glossaries
- search by country, theme, date, content type
- exportable data tables and graphs
Coverage: 1915 - current
- Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories
- Public Affairs
Coverage: 1969 - current
- Covers over 400 economics periodicals.
NBER working paper series
National Bureau of Economic Research
Coverage: November 1994 - current
- working papers focus on empirical research:
development of new statistical measures
effects of public policy on U.S. economy
and estimating quantitative models of economic behavior
- Scholarly and popular articles, government documents and reports
- dealing with the interaction between humans and the environment.
Coverage: 1967 - current
- World history (for the USA and Canada see: America, History and Life database)
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years
- Scholarly periodicals
- Some titles exclude current issues (full text embargo)
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
- Scholarly titles from John Hopkins University
- note: we do not subscribe to all titles
Social Sciences Abstracts With Full Text
Coverage: 1983 - current
- International, English-language periodicals
- Sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law
- Broader coverage than SocIndex.
Tracking Development Finance
- AidData is a comprehensive resource for students and professors researching foreign aid and international development.
World Bank Data
- data from over 200 countries; economics, health, energy, debt, infrastructure, development, poverty, labor, and social issues.
United Nations Data
- data areas fo countries and topics: gender, health, human development, trade, tourism, information communications technology, energy, education, and crime.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data
- data covering IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators; by topic as well as country
International Data Base (IDB)
- tabular data (downloadable) for countries and regions as well as demographic indicators, population pyramids and source information for countries (Census Bureau)
World Treaty Index
database spanning the 20th century. Indexes and provides citations to sources for full texts of multilateral and bilateral treaties.
subject and chronological listings, and a searchable database of full-text international multilateral conventions and other instruments; most from 1945- with some older historical texts. Also links to other treaty sites
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu