Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find Articles -- Top Databases for Feminist and Gender Studies Research
Gender Studies Database
Coverage: pre-1972 - current. Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, and freely available full text articles & documents on the Web.
SEARCH TIP: When searching in JSTOR, scroll down to "Journal Filter" and limit to "Feminist & Women's Studies" to get results from scholarly publications in that field. Remember that FemGen is interdisciplinary. Do any other disciplines address your topic?
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
Coverage: varies. Project Muse Standard Collection of core scholarly titles from John Hopkins University. Offers current and back issues. Please note: we do not subscribe to the Premium Collection. We have access to most, but not all, Project Muse titles.
Alternative Press Index
Coverage: 1969 - current. Alternative Press Index is a classic bibliographic database of articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API is now part of EBSCOHOST in two databases: Alternative Press Archives, 1969-1990; and Alternative Press Index, 1991-current. The link above will search both simultaneously; API is cross-searchable with other EBSCOHOST databases.
African Women Bibliographic Database
Coverage: 1980s- current. Indexes English language materials: books and government documents; articles in edited books; periodical and journal articles; theses and dissertations; conference papers; videocassettes. Some full text.
Africa Knowledge Project
Journals and databases from the Africa Resource Center focusing on Africa and the African Diaspora. Content includes JENdA: A Journal of Culture and African Women Studies, Journal on African Philosophy, and the African Music Database.
Coverage: 1895 - current. Indexes core sociology journals dating back to 1895. More focused on sociology as a discipline than Sociological Abstracts.
Social Sciences Abstracts With Full Text
Coverage: 1972 - current. International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Broader coverage than SocIndex. Upgraded to full text version in July 2017.
Coverage: 1887 - current. Comprehensive international database of psychology. Covers the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology.
Coverage: 1988 - current. Full text articles on current issues in psychology, general psychology, and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology, covering journals published by the American Psychological Association and other allied organizations.
Women's History Databases
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society, 1750-1950
Coverage: 1719 - 1976. Growing collection of writings of women from the 18th-20th centuries, drawn from the American Antiquarian Society. Offers advanced browsing and searching, and high-quality scans. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Coverage: 1675 - 2002. 150,000+ pages of diaries and letters from over 1,300 women, supplemented with biographies and bibliographies. Browse and search by detailed factors like author, race, occupation, age at first childbirth, year written, and geographical setting. Cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000: Scholar's edition
Coverage: 1600 - 2000. Growing collection of documents related to women and social movements in U.S. history. Includes primary source documents, images, dictionary of movements, biographical dictionary, chronology, reviews, notes, and teaching tools. Organized for in-depth browsing and searching.
Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity Part I: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
Primary and secondary sources on and by the LGBTQ community. Newsletters, newspapers, periodicals, and many other types of materials, drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups. Overlapping subject areas include feminism and HIV/AIDS.
Retrieving an Article
Not all of our databases have full text, but that doesn't mean the article isn't available!
To find the article text:
will lead you to to the article (if the library has access), or interlibrary loan to request it.
You can also use Find Journals or Citation Linker to track down an article.
Ask a librarian if you need help!
Databases by Subject
Remember that Feminist and Gender Studies is interdisciplinary! Be sure to check out our subject guides to search for your topic in article databases focusing on history, sociology, literature, REM, and many other subjects.
A Note on Search Terms
Databases and catalogs can often use language that is offensive or outdated. Remember to try searching a variety of keywords-- even if it's not a term you prefer or would use yourself.
In the news: Library of Congress Drops Illegal Alien Subject Heading, Provokes Backlash Legislation
Prejudices and Antipathies
Call Number: Garden Level -- Z695.1.S6 B47 1993
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
Cruising the Library : Perversities in the Organization of Knowledge
Call Number: New Arrivals -- Z695 .A25 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-03
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu