Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides


Feminist and Gender Studies: Find Articles

Previously known as Women's Studies (the name changed in 2005).

Search these Databases

These are some good article databases for Feminist and Gender Studies, with a particularly useful one on top:

Gender Studies Database Coverage: pre-1972 - current
Combines the Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, and freely available full text articles & documents on the Web.

Academic Search Complete Coverage: 1865 - current
Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad. Upgraded from Academic Search Premier.

Africa Knowledge Project
Journals and databases from the Africa Resource Center focusing on Africa and the African Diaspora. Content includes JENdA: A Journal of Culture and African Women Studies, Journal on African Philosophy, and the African Music Database.

African Women Bibliographic Database Coverage: 1986 - current
Indexes English language materials: books and government documents; articles in edited books; periodical and journal articles; theses and dissertations; conference papers; videocassettes. Some full text.

Alternative Press Index Coverage: 1969 - current
Alternative Press Index is a classic bibliographic database of articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API is now part of EBSCOHOST in two databases: Alternative Press Archives, 1969-1990; and Alternative Press Index, 1991-current. The link above will search both simultaneously; API is cross-searchable with other EBSCOHOST databases.

America, History & Life Coverage: 1967 - current
Covers American history.

British And Irish Women's Letters And Diaries, From 1500-1950 Coverage: 1558 - 1950
Contains 100,000+ pages of letters and diaries of over 500 women. Organized for detailed browsing and searching. Cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.

Discovering American Women's History ONLINE This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index Coverage: works published 1990 - current
The Medieval Feminist Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Films On Demand Coverage: pre-1990 to current
Films on Demand subscription to the following categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, and Health & Medicine. Hundreds of documentaries and educational films viewable as a whole or by segment. Register for an account to build playlists and set preferences. If you have trouble viewing from off campus, please contact the Reference Desk at x6662.

Manuscript Women's Letters And Diaries Coverage: 1719 - 1976
Growing collection of writings of women from the 18th-20th centuries, drawn from the American Antiquarian Society. Offers advanced browsing and searching, and high-quality scans. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.

North American Women's Drama Coverage: 1714 - current
1500+ plays (some never before published) by 300+ playwrights together with detailed, indexed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera. Cross-searchable under North American Theater Online.

North American Women's Letters And Diaries Coverage: 1675 - 2002
150,000+ pages of diaries and letters from over 1,300 women, supplemented with biographies and bibliographies. Browse and search by detailed factors like author, race, occupation, age at first childbirth, year written, and geographical setting. Cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.

PsycARTICLES Coverage: 1988 - current
Full text articles on current issues in psychology, general psychology, and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology, covering journals published by the American Psychological Association and other allied organizations. NOTE: You can search both PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time. Contact Reference Desk x6662.

PsycINFO Coverage: 1887 - current
Comprehensive international database of psychology. Covers the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. NOTE: You can search both PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time. Contact Reference Desk x6662.

Social Sciences Abstracts Coverage: 1983 - current
International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Broader coverage than SocIndex.

SocINDEX Coverage: 1895 - current
Indexes core sociology journals dating back to 1895. More focused on sociology as a discipline than Sociological Abstracts.

Women And Social Movements In The United States 1600-2000 Coverage: 1600 - 2000
Growing collection of documents related to women and social movements in U.S. history. Includes primary source documents, images, dictionary of movements, biographical dictionary, chronology, reviews, notes, and teaching tools. Organized for in-depth browsing and searching.

Women Writers Online Coverage: 1400 - 1850
Contains fulltext of nearly 400 works of early modern women writers.

Online journal archives

Unlike the subject-specific article databases, these online journal archives don’t concentrate on any one academic subject. Instead, they take leading journals from many fields, or all the journals from one publisher, and provide extensive archives of the full text of those journals online, usually in the form of PDF files.

Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-5 years
Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall imposed on them.
Oxford University Press Journals
Coverage: varies; usually late 1990's - current
A searchable collection of full text periodicals. Scholarly sources.
Proquest Platform Includes access to select newspaper archives and American periodicals 
Project Muse
Coverage: 1993 - current
Project Muse provides access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals. Offers current and back issues.

Feminist Daily News [RSS Feed]

Loading ...

Find Journals by Title

You can see if Tutt Library subscribes to a journal by searching Find Journals. If the title you're looking for is available online in one of our databases, you'll be able to search within it to find articles. 

Find the Full Text

  Searches for
Full Text

If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.

Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available

1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan 

Sign Up to Use Interlibrary Loan


Request the fulltext of articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) using ILLiad. Nearly 50 percent of articles arrive in 24-48 hours and are delivered electronially to your email! 

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: