Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides


Feminist and Gender Studies: Reference Sources

Previously known as Women's Studies (the name changed in 2005).

Selected Print Reference Books

A Selection of Reference Sources

Here's a small sample of useful FGS reference sources at Tutt Library (some in paper, some online):


In the Reference section (left of the Circulation Desk on the main floor)

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similitaries and Differences and the Impact of Society Reference HQ1115 .E43 2001

From Suffrage to the Senate : An Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics Reference HQ1236.5.U6 S32 1999

Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia, Reference LC213 .G425 2007 

Sexuality, Gender, and the Law Reference KF9325 .A7 2004

Supreme Court Cases on Gender and Sexuality, 1787-2001 Reference KF4785 .A7 A96 2002  

Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encylopedia Reference HQ1147 .E85 W66 2006 


Useful Gale Virtual Reference Library titles include:

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender (2007)

Feminism in Literature (2005)

Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources (2007)

Women in American Society (2010)

Free Databases for Women & Gender Studies Research

African Women’s Bibliographic Database

"This English language database contains over 22,000 citations from 1986 to current. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes. "


American Women's History: A Research Guide

Provides citations to print and internet reference sources, plus large primary source collections.

Ariadne Database

“A German-language bibliographic database (mainly articles) from the holdings of the Austrian National Library in Vienna, focusing on "international and women's studies literature". Some results are English language articles.”


The Commercial Closet: The world’s largest collection of gay advertising

Includes over 1100 ads from all over the world since 1917 searchable by theme. "The Commercial Closet Association is a unique, non-profit educational and journalism organization that proactively reaches out to ad agencies, marketers, the media and world-at-large to encourage more inclusive and flattering representations of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people in advertising."


Diotima: Materials for the study of women and gender in the ancient world

"An interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean." A searchable bibliography is one of many resources available at this site.


Discovering American Women's History Online

"Access to digital collections of primary sources that document the history of women in the United States."


Distinguished Women of Past and Present

"This site has biographies of women who contributed to our culture in many different ways. There are writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others."


Early Modern Women Database

"provides links to World Wide Web resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas. It focuses on the period ca. 1500 to ca. 1800. Resources have been selected for their scholarly value by librarians on the Arts and Humanities Team of the University of Maryland Libraries. Materials range from bibliographic databases to full-text resources, images, and sound recordings. Most of the resources linked here are free. Some require a license for access."


European Database: Women in Decision-making

"Provides information about women in political decision-making positions in the European Union, in Member States of the European Economic Area and in the Candidate Countries. Data are collected on national, regional and on the European level." Available in English, German and French.


Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

"Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages."


Films and Video on Women, Gender and Feminism

Extensive database of women's studies related films held in the University of Arizona's library system.


Gender Inn: Women’s and Gender Studies Database

"Searchable database providing access to over 7000 records pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature."


GenderStats: A database for gender statistics

"An electronic database of gender statistics and indicators. ... Data sources for GenderStats include national statistics, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys."


ALETTA: Institute of Women’s History

the home of the renowned collection, the International Archives for the Women's Movement. By collecting and making our heritage available, Aletta aims to inspire, to expand knowledge on the position of women and to promote research in this area.”


ViVa: A Bibliography of Women’s History in Historical and Women’s Studies Journals

"ViVa is a current bibliography of articles about women's and gender history. Articles published in English, French, German, Dutch, Danish, Norwegian, and Swedish are selected from 149 European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals. Today, the ViVa database contains bibliographic records describing more than seven thousand articles published from 1975 to 2002 in historical and women's studies journals."


Women in Politics: A bibliographic database

"has been developed with the contribution of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). The database is regularly up-dated to take account of new books and articles produced throughout the world on the subject of women in politics. It covers titles representing international, regional, country-by-country as well as thematic perspectives."


Women’s Human Rights Resources

Provides "diverse, quality information on women's international human rights law."


Working Women 1800-1930

The focus is on women's role in United States economy and provides access to Harvard University's digital collection.

Digital Collections

Film/TV Research on the Internet

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: