Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Coverage: 1977 - current. Use news section.
Newspaper Source Plus
Coverage: 1969 - current. Full text for major U.S., regional U.S. and international newspapers, as well as full text transcripts from television and radio news. Upgraded to Newspaper Source Plus in July 2017.
Wall Street Journal
Coverage: 1984 - current /Daily business/financial and political news and reports with global coverage.
Coverage: 1728 - 1900.
Access to archival fulltext newspapers including the Pennsylvania Gazette, African American and Civil War Newspapers, and Godey's Lady's Book.
Atlanta Constitution (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Coverage: 1868 - 1942.
"The Atlanta Constitution, historically known as 'the voice of the new south.' Contains first hand accounts of the Reconstruction period and post-war South" to early twentieth century. Full image and full text newspaper articles. (Lexis-Nexis provides text coverage from 1991-present.)
Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present
Coverage: 1700 - 2006.
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,200+ sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes non-fiction works, interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material. Also includes the Black Panther newspaper from 1967-1980. Allows for advanced browsing and searching. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Coverage: 1849 - 1985.
The Chicago Tribune is one of the nation's oldest continuously published newspapers. Source for prohibition debates, mercantile development of the midwest, westward expansion, Settlement House Movement - Jane Addams, Al Capone. Full image and full text newspaper articles. (Lexis-Nexis provides current text coverage from March 1, 2002-present.)
From the Library of Congress. Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection
Coverage: 1859 -
Search over 90 historic Colorado newspapers from 49 cities and 36 counties throughout the state, published in English, German, Spanish, or Swedish. The database includes digital versions of newspapers found on microfilm at the Colorado Historical Society's Stephen H. Hart Library that were published between 1859 and 1928. New material is usually added once a month. Some issues of the Colorado Springs Gazette are included.
Foreign Newspaper Database at the Center for Research Libraries
Search by title, city, country, language, etc. and request materials to be loaned via Prospector.
See Center for Research Libraries FAQ.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Spanish and bilingual Spanish/English newspapers published in the United States from the 19th to 20th centuries. Great source of historical information and culture; also a source of reporting on events in Spanish-speaking countries that were not necessarily covered in English-language newspapers. Part of "America's Historical Newspapers."
Latin American Newspapers
Coverage: 1805 - 1922.
More than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Coverage: 1881 - 1986.
Provides complete, full-image access to historical articles from the Los Angeles Times from 1881. For current online articles, use Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
National Archives and Records Administration
Coverage: historical. Description and many links to digital copies of the documents, photographs and maps housed in the National Archives and regional branches.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Coverage: 1851 - 3 years from current.
Provides full-image access to historical articles from the New York Times from 1851 to 3 years from present.
Nineteenth-Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
South Asian Newspapers
Coverage: 1864 - 1922. Collection of newspapers published in India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka; languages include English, Bengali and Gujarati. When completed, this collection will provide 400,000+ pages.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
Full text of the The Times (London) provides access to full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
Coverage: 1736 – 1780
The Virginia Gazette was the official newspaper of Virginia and printed in Williamsburg from 1736 through 1780. Browse by date or search the electronic index.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu