A Territorial Evolution of the United States from March 4, 1789 to the Present...
"Ask Not What Your Country Can Do for You..."
On January 20, 1961, President John F. Kennedy was sworn into office and delivered one of the most famous inaugural addresses in U.S. history with the line "Ask not what your country can do for you - ask what you can do for your country."
World Trade Press is a publishing and information products company dedicated to providing reliable, up-to-date digital media essential for researchers, educators, travelers, and logistics and international trade professionals. These products draw from their Global Knowledgebase of digital reference information, which complements their printed offerings that include maps, books, and atlases.
Dr. Seuss, (Theodor Seuss Geisel, 1904-1991) was best known for his children's books, although he was also a life-long cartoonist. For two years, 1941-1943, he was the chief editorial cartoonist for the New York newspaper PM (1940-1948), and for that journal he drew over 400 editorial cartoons, which give a different perspective of WW 2 history.
Banks, bailouts, debt, the housing market, and the Dow Jones Industrial Average are in the news everyday. These are all pieces of what we call the economy, and making sense of it can sometimes be confusing. Scholastic News provides articles, word games, and more for kids ages 5-15.
The Gateway has been serving teachers continuously since 1996 which makes it one of the oldest publically accessible U.S. repositories of education resources on the Web. The Gateway contains a variety of educational resource types from activities and lesson plans to online projects to assessment items.
In 2009, Justice Sandra Day O’Connor founded iCivics to reverse Americans’ declining civic knowledge and participation. Securing our democracy, she realized, requires teaching the next generation to understand and respect our system of governance. Today iCivics comprises not just our board and staff, but also a national leadership team of state supreme court justices, secretaries of state, and educational leaders and a network of committed volunteers.
A safe place where kids can create, share, and learn. The site has separate tabs for K-5, 6-8, and for teachers. Within these tabs are numerous links to reliable websites for art, math, science, social studies, etc.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
Scholastic strives to present the clearest explanation of current affairs and contemporary thought, and to encourage literary appreciation and expression consistent with the understanding and interests of young people at all levels of learning.
A project of the Southern Poverty Law Center to fight hate and promote tolerance. The website includes teaching kits, classroom activities, and a recommended resource guide. There is also a link to a Teaching Diverse Students Initiative, geared for school districts and college teacher education programs
TIME For Kids is a weekly classroom news magazine that motivates kids to read! Issues cover a wide range of real-world topics kids love to learn about - and it's the best nonfiction text you'll find! Our Digital Editions are the perfect supplement to your TIME For Kids print subscription, and they deliver a host of exciting features to help bring TIME For Kids to life.
This website is a broad-based, social science study (from Ithaca College, NY) of U.S. education involving history, philosophy, sociology, anthropology, economics, and politics. Its focus is contemporary issues in education, emphasizing issues of equity, diversity, multicultural education, and the development of effective schools for ALL students and families.