Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find Journals by Title
You can see if Tutt Library subscribes to a journal by searching Find Journals. If the title you're looking for is available online in one of our databases, you'll be able to search within it to find articles.
... where professional historians talk
You can access these journals in JSTOR for past issues,
with the most recent 3-4 years shelved in Tutt Library.
They nearly always have historiographical review essays.
Academic Search Complete
Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Archival access to many scholarly, full-text articles.
Retrieves citations to a wide variety of research papers, thesis, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Check for possible full text by using Colorado College Links or Colorado College e-texts buttons next to the citations.
U.S. History Databases (Secondary Sources)
Covers world history.
America, History and Life
Covers American History.
Humanities International Complete
A comprehensive humanities database with almost 500 full text titles, and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multidisciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
Project Muse provides access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals. Offers current and back issues.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Coverage: 1890 - 1982. The premier index to popular periodicals. No full text links, but Tutt owns a large percentage of the magazines/journals indexed by this resource. Continued by Readers Guide Abstracts. Now on EBSCOHOST; H.W. Wilson platform no longer available as of 2/1/2012.
Find Historical Dates, People, and Places
World History: Hyperhistory is another good resource with over 3000 files covering 3000 years. Search by people, events, map, culture, politics and more!
Top History Journals
(ranked by Thomson Reuters Essential Science Indicators, 2001-2011)
Ranking is determined by citation impact; in otherwords, those journals with the largest number of most-frequently cited papers.
Available at Tutt Library:
History Databases by Geographic Region
(stock photo Globe Staff Illustration)
Find the Full Text
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Sign Up to Use Interlibrary Loan
Request the fulltext of articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) using ILLiad. Nearly 50 percent of articles arrive in 24-48 hours and are delivered electronially to your email!
Google Scholar can be used to find primary sources. Click on the arrow to the right of the search box to open the Advanced Scholar Search window.
Google for Keywords
Search Google to find keywords related to your topic.
Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track popular authors.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu