Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Industry Surveys can be used for information about the current business environment, regulations, developments, and issues that impact companies operating within that industry.
It should explain how the industry operates, who the leading companies are, and facts about suppliers and regulations
Business source complete
Has plenty of industry and market content.
Search by NAICS code (change the dropdown box to "IC NAICS Code or Description") and filter results using the facets to the left of the results list.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
limit to "Industry overview" or search by industry
Look up a company and go to the Industry Reports Tab
U.S. and International company and industry information.
Trade Associations (also called trade groups, industry groups, business associations, etc.) are often the only place to find current statistics or trends for an industry.
They exist at the local, regional, national, or international level and may publish information for practitioners in the industry.
Trade journals are very useful for learning the vocabulary of an industry, the key players, and current issues or trends.
Business source complete
Coverage: 1886 - current. A comprehensive source of indexing and abstracts for over 3,000 periodicals, most full text. Also includes monographs, country economic reports, industry reports, company profiles, working papers, SWOT analyses and author profiles. Supplemented by Regional Business News and seminar videos. Coverage of marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, international business, and more.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Company information - including financials, news and history, country economic and political risk reports, and legal cases.
is a primier resource for industry research and statistics.
American FactFinder is the statistical tool for the Census Bureau .
Use the "Quick Search" box to search by NAICS code or industry description.
Industry Classification Code
are helpful for finding industry information since many databases allow you to search by industry code.
NAICS and its precursor SIC organize businesses into categories.
Note: NAICS is the main standard although some agencies and databases continue to use the SIC system.
Industry Research Tips
To understand a company an its competitors, you need to understand the industry of which it is a part.
Finding information about an industry includes the following steps:
- Get an overview of the industry (market research, industry summaries)
- Look for articles on trends for forecasts
- Gather statistics from government agencies and trade associations
- Explore trade associations for additional information about an industry
- Data from one source may not match another both in terms of data and definition of an industry.
- Small industries are often reported as part of larger industries in government data and other information sources.
Look for targeted market research to address these markets
- Quality, availability and cost of association information varies widely. Some of it is only available to members while some data can be free.
- Emerging industries are difficult to research. Data may not be available and trends may not have been established.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu