Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

Books You Can Love and How to Find Them: Genres / Specific Interests

An overview of the readers' advisory resources available to help you find the next thing you want to read. Think block breaks, summer reading, or even something to take your mind off that looming deadline.

Adventure Fiction

Adventure and Military Fiction - a collection of links to booklists put together by public librarians
Anchors Aweigh - an illustrated and annotated list of classic naval adventure fiction from the Lincoln City Library
LibraryThing Subject List: Adventure Fiction
Michael Chabon’s 12 Favorite Works of Adventure Fiction

African-American Authors

African American Interests - Kansas City Public Library list, focused on "street lit"
African American Literature Book Club - book reviews, bestseller lists, author pages, and more.
African American Fiction Writers - a well-organized, succinct list from the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County

Animal Stories

Animal Lovers’ Mysteries - this list was compiled from suggestions made by the members of FICTION_L, an email group where librarians share ideas about connecting readers with satisfying books.
Animals - a genre-spanning list of recommendations from the Charlotte Mecklenburg Library, which includes book cover photos, staff reviews, and reader comments.
Fiction Featuring Animals and Pets - a list of public library booklists: everything from "Animal Whisperers" to "Snake Fiction".
If You Like Marley and Me - Lincoln City Library's list of "sentimental, humor-filled" animal memoirs.

Cult Fiction

50 Best Cult Books - an annotated list from The Daily Telegraph (UK).
Classic Cult Fiction - this Art and Popular Culture wiki article includes a list taken from Thomas Reed Whissen's book of the same name, with links to individual articles covering most of the authors and titles listed.
Cult Fiction - a wonderfully discursive list from the Auckland City Libraries in New Zealand.
List of Cult Fiction Classics - a cult fiction reader's personal selections.

Fantasy

Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time - chosen by the writers of Fantasy Book Review.
Green Man Review - in-depth book reviews.
Mythic and Fairytale Fiction Reading Lists - from the now-defunct (but still full of wonderful stuff for fantasy fans) Journal of Mythic Arts.
The Recommended Fantasy Author List - an incredibly completist list of fantasy novels recommended by somebody (often a member of the rec.sf.arts.eddings newsgroup back in the early days of the internet). 
tor.com - fantasy/scifi imprint Tor Books has created a vibrant community site focusing on all things SFF-related. Art, book reviews, chapter-at-a-time rereads of fantasy classics, blog posts from popular writers (including ones who don't publish with Tor), and more. 
Urban Contemporary Fantasy - suggestions from the members of the FICTION_L email group.
World Fantasy Awards

First Chapters Excerpted

BookBrowse - this top-notch review database offers excerpts for almost all the books it contains (enhanced for Tutt Library patrons)
BookDaily - more than 80,000 titles are included.  This site also allows you to register and create a sample shelf in order to receive a different excerpt of your choice by email every morning.
CNN - features mainly, but not exclusively, adrenaline-charged thrillers and spy novels.
ReadersRead.com - this site features an eclectic mix of excerpts, sorted by genre.
USA Today - a selection of popular fiction and nonfiction, reaching back about 10 years.

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer Perspectives


GLBT Literature - features a long list of recommended titles, as well as other resources like reviews, announcements of upcoming titles, a website of the month, and booklists on specific topics
I'm Here, I'm Queer, What the Hell Do I Read? - wide-ranging book reviews (helpfully arranged by subgenre in the left sidebar), interviews, news, other blogs of interest, and more.
LAMBDA Literary - home of the LAMBDA Awards for GLBTQ fiction, this site also hosts a book blog, a review site, and an online book club.
Over the Rainbow - an annotated list of recommended books from the GLBT roundtable of the American Library Association.

Geographic Locations

Goodreads Places Guide - this enormous list compiles all the place name tags used by Goodreads members. There are thousands of locations listed, with at least a few books for each location.
Literary Guide to the World - a Salon.com collection of essays by writers who are also readers, each one "a travel guide devoted not to restaurants, hotels and museums, but to the literature of a place"
World of Books - "annotated surveys of noteworthy books from around the globe" compiled by the Library of Congress

Graphic Novels and Other Comix

Best of No Flying, No Tights - staff recommendations from the most extensive graphic novel review site on the web
FA: The ComicZine - commentary, news, and reviews
Graphic Books Best Sellers List - from the New York Times
Great Graphic Novels for Teens - a list from the Young Adult Library Services Association
Grovel - UK-based blog featuring graphic novel reviews and previews
TIME Magazine’s All-TIME Graphic Novels

Historical Fiction

Historical Fiction - list of all historical fiction reviewed/excerpted/etc by BookBrowse
HistoricalNovels.Info - searchable in-depth book reviews, a news blog, web links, and even a serialized novel!
Reading the Past - Sarah Johnson is a librarian who has published books about helping readers find good historical novels. Her (indexed) review blog also includes author interviews, upcoming books, and a feature on tacky cover art.

Horror

Bram Stoker Awards  - winners and nominees of the prime US horror award
Horror Reading List - a short list of classics recommended by the Horror Writers Association
Monster Librarian - horror-loving librarians (and friends) collaborate on this site: reviews, author interviews, and other reading resources
Shapeshifter Emporium - browseable, illustrated lists of fiction, nonfiction, movies, etc. about werewolves and other shapeshifters
The Vampire Library - searchable guide to vampires; covers both fiction and non-fiction

Humor

Archives for the "Humor" Category - at Blogging for A Good Book.  (They also have a "dark humor" category.)
Humor and Satire - book recommendations, reviews, and excerpts from BookBrowse
Leacock Medal - awarded annually to the funniest Canadian book published in the last year.

International Authors

Reading Globally (LibraryThing) - fiction recommendations and book discussions, organized around regional themes (for example, "20th and 21st Century Central and Eastern Europe," or "China and Its Neighboring Countries").
Red Hot Curry's Book Pages - news and reviews from a website that celebrates the Asian diaspora in the UK
Words without Borders - "the online magazine for international literature": news, reviews, award winners, fiction, essays, and award announcements.
World of Books - "annotated surveys of noteworthy books from around the globe" compiled by the Library of Congress

Latino Authors

America Reads Spanish - book reviews and news from a website that strives to promote Spanish-language reading in the US
Essential Guide to Spanish Reading - an annotated top 500 list of Spanish-language authors
Latin American Literature - book reviews from mostlyfiction.com
Libros, Pelicúlas, Música - Spanish-language reader's advisory from Denver Public Library
Pura Belpre Award Winners - given to Latino/a authors and illustrators of children's books about the Latino experience

Made into Movies (or TV Shows)

Based on the Book Mid-Continent Public Library's highly-organized list of more than 1250 books that have been adapted to film
Best Book to Film Adaptations - The Daily Telegraph (a UK newspaper) recommends 25 films based on books
Books into Film - this booklist was compiled by Christchurch City Libraries, in New Zealand.
Books on Screen - irregularly updated posts from Kidsread.com about recent movies and the books they were adapted from
Books on Screen - a blog from Book Reporter about upcoming films based on books; updates monthly

Memoirs and Biography

Biographile - reviews, recommendations, and news for the discerning fan of biographies and memoirs.
Citizen Reader: Memoir - Sarah Statz Cords applies her usual humor and verve to a lot of memoirs, and she doesn't hesitate to dish out lavish praise or harsh words. You may find yourself enjoying her reviews of books you have read as much as her suggestions for those you haven't!
PEN/Ackerley Prize - given to a British "literary autobiography of excellence" every year. Their website includes nominees as well as winners: a rich source for finding elegant writing about people's own lives.
Pulitzer Prizes for Biography or Autobiography - this venerable American prize tends to reward political and historical biography. Recent winners tell the stories of George Washington, Cornelius Vanderbilt, and Louisa may Alcott.
A Reader's Place: Roz Recommends - Roz Reisner is a librarian who specializes in connecting readers with memoirs.  "Roz Recommends" collects several of her booklists, such as "Complications: Doctors Write About Their Experiences," and "Memoirs Set in Africa", but her whole site is worth exploring if you're a memoir fan.

Mysteries and Thrillers

The Big Thrill - this monthly webzine features reviews, interviews, giveaways, and more, under the aegis of the International Thriller Writers.
Eurocrime - a review and news blog focusing on British and European crime fiction, tv shows, and movies.  Great for fans of Stieg Larsson and BBC Mysteries, this blog also explores more obscure corners of international crime.
Reviewing the Evidence - news blog and mystery review repository.  This site doesn't have many bells and whistles, but it does have thousands of thoughtful, independent reviews.
Stop, You’re Killing Me! - voracious and discriminating mystery readers love this site. SYKM not only reviews mystery novels, it also features indexes that let you hone in on your preferred style of mystery, categorizing titles by location, historical time period, protagonist's day job, or protagonist's diversity of experience.  There are also readalike lists and award-winners.

Poetry

Ars Poetica - this poetry libguide by one of Tutt's own librarians, Mimi Wheatwind, extensively explores poetry sources, criticism, and "fun stuff". Best Poetry Best of Lists - this list is compiled by Poetry Foundation staffers. If you search their site, you can peruse lists from earlier years.
Guardian Poetry Page - the Guardian is a UK newspaper known for its extensive and thoughtful book coverage. You can browse their poetry-specific articles at this link.
Publishers Weekly Poetry Reviews - this tumblr links to every poetry review in Publishers Weekly soon after they are published. 
Small Press Poetry Bestsellers - this site publishes monthly lists of best-selling small press poetry books.

Romance

All About Romance - we're linking to this site's workhorse of a power search, which lets you search not just authors and titles, but also type of story, location, time period, sensuality level, and lots more.  However, the site as a whole has tons of other swoon-worthy features: everything from message boards to a Top 100 Romances reader poll to the Annual Purple Prose Parody Contest.
Love Stories - BookBrowse's list of literary romances includes not just recommendations, but also excerpts, readalike suggestions, and in-depth reviews.
Romantic Times Daily Blog - this blog is marvelously gossipy and serves as a great entryway for Romantic Times' vast website.  Weeekly updates, featured reviews, interviews, and the "If You Like ... You'll Love" column are just the tip of the iceberg.
Smart Bitches, Trashy Books - the name of this site has probably already tipped you off that it's not well-suited for readers with delicate sensibilities.  The brash and vulgar, on the other hand, will find lots to adore about SBTB, including blunt-but-affectionate reviews, snappy podcasts, and (really!) thoughtful commentary about all things romance.

Science Fiction

Center for the Study of Science Fiction - an intensely academic site hosted by the University of Kansas under the auspices of noted science fiction author/scholar James Gunn.  Lots of information throughout, although a more casual enthusiast might rather skip straight to the Resources section....
The Internet Speculative Fiction Database - like the IMDB, only for SF novels.  Great for finding out more about a particular author or series!
io9 - eclectic, active blogging community
Locus - this venerable SF magazine has the most active web presence of them all
SF Site - focusing mostly on reviews, etc
Strange Horizons - new short stories, reviews, and critical essays every Monday.  Strange Horizons has been around for more than a decade; it's an excellent place to find great writers before they make it big.
tor.com- Free stories and art, thoughtful reviews and rereadings, and conversations about speculative fiction both profound and frivolous. This site is published by a genre publisher (TOR/Forge), but its content has no particular editorial bias.
Uchronia - alternate history (aka alternative history, counterfactuals, "what if" books, etc.) - a massive, searchable, annotated bibliography for this subgenre

Short Stories and Essays

Best/Favorite Books of Essays - this Goodreads list offers up essay collections from a wide variety of genres and time periods, ranked by popular vote
Sample Tutt's Collections - Tutt has a long run of the Best American Short Stories and Best American Essays, as well as many volumes of the Pushcart Prize series. Anthologies can be very useful in the hunt to find new authors to love!
Short Stories and Essays - a long list from BookBrowse with lots of short-form reading, both fiction and nonfiction
Short Stories in the Spotlight - a tasty mix of hot new titles and canonical short-story writers
Short Stories We Love - 19 short story collections recommended by Oprah's Book Club

Travel and Adventure

Books for Armchair Travel and Adventure - Famous librarian Nancy Pearl recommends some of her favorite transporting reads
National Geographic Adventure's Top 100 Adventure Books of All Time - in-depth recommendations of the classic titles in this genre.
Travel and Adventure - BookBrowse recommends more than 90 books in this category, with reviews and excerpts for each title.

True Crime

Book Browse True Crime - this list adopts an inclusive view of the genre, including not just the usual suspects, but also books about Nazi Germany, Stalin, and Guantanamo. Like all Book Browse lists, it links to reviews and excerpts of each book.
RASD True Crime - A richly annotated set of personal recommendations from the librarians of Suffolk County
True Crime: More than Just the Facts, Ma'am - a concise, convincing list of suggestions from Mid-Continent Public Library

War

Civil War Fiction - a rich and appealing list of suggestions from the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
Guide to Civil War Novels - A serious and well-organized academic site that is also useful for fans
A Large Handful of Novels About World War II - personal recommendations from the webmaster of Flashlight Worthy
Women at War - an annotated list of recommended nonfiction titles from the Indianapolis Public Library

Westerns

Best of the West - personal fiction and non-fiction recommendations from western writers and thinkers, from the pages of the High Country News
Official Louis L’Amour Website - Mr. L'Amour is the universally acknowledged Western grand master.

Readwest - Readwest is a non-profit foundation "dedicated to increasing the awareness and diversity of western literature"
Spur Award Winners from the Western Writers of America, Inc. -  awards for all western genres: fiction, nonfiction, plays, kids' books, songs, and more!
Western Authors - a comprehensive listing and web index
Willa Awards from Women Writing the West - these awards honor "women's or girls' stories set in the West"

Women Writers

17 Essays by Female Writers That Everyone Should Read - most of these essays are freely available online - a great way to discover an author you haven't read before!
Feminista!‘s 100 Great 20th Century Works of Fiction by Women (from Listology)compiled in response to Modern Library's 100 Best Novels list
Top 10 Women Authors of My Misspent Literary Youth - part of the New York Public Library's series on celebrating Women's History Month, this enticing and deeply personal essay recommends some classic works by not-always-canonical authors
Voices from the Gaps (VG) - this site takes an academic approach to the works of women writers of color. If you're willing to dig a bit, there are a lot of interesting interviews, reviews, and more...

Young Adult

35 Going on 13 - This regular column in Library Journal recommends young adult books of high interest to both teens and older adults
Adult Books for Young Adults - Each year, editors of the noted book review magazine Booklist compile a list of adult books most relevant to teens and other younger adults.
Teenreads.com - reading lists, blogs, book giveaways, and more - a megasite for young adult books.
Reading Rants! Out of the Ordinary Teen Booklists! - check out the sidebar for the lists referenced in the title of this YA librarians' review blog. She also does a great job linking to other YA recommendation blogs, and to popular young adult authors.
YALSA Book Awards and Best Book Lists - YALSA is the Young Adult Services section of the American Library Association - lots of great suggestions at this link!

Circulation Team Coordinator

Marianne Aldrich's picture
Marianne Aldrich
Contact:
My office is behind Tutt's circulation desk. Email works best, but you can also call me at (719)389-6189.
Website / Blog Page
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu