Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

Music: Music Databases

Music Subject Guide

Find Full Text Articles

  Searches for
Full Text

 

If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the   Tutt Link logo.

 

Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available

 

1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (Tutt's bound periodicals)
3) through Interlibrary Loan 

 

Music Databases

Text Databases

Grove Music Online

Use this resource to locate background and specific information on specific types of music (search by the name of the composer if you know it, or by the genre of music). Contains good bibliographies and links to other Internet resources. Provides sources on classical music, ethnomusicology, opera, jazz, and much more…

The Music Index

Use this resource to gather citations to international journal articles, book reviews, etc, with a broad coverage of music topics. It’s especially strong in the music education field.

 JSTOR is a scholarly journal archives with many Music titles.  Although many journals in JSTOR are archives only, JSTOR is now starting to host current content (the most recent issues).  It's best not to limit your search to music journals; you'll find articles about music in journals principally devoted to other disciplines.  Most articles will be available full text, to be printed.

RILM covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more (see a complete list of document types). Publications represented in RILM originate from 151 countries, from Albania to Zimbabwe.  Articles in many languages with English titles.  Not full text, but very comprehensive coverage-articles may be linked to other sources for full text-otherwise you can order through interlibrary loan.  Try this!

 Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive. An archival research resouce containing the essential primary resources for studying the history of the film and entertaingment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies to 2000.  The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music pres titles.  Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articels, covers, ads and reviews.

Streamed Audio Databases

Streamed audio databases provide sound recordings 24/7 on and off campus.  These include:

American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Database of Recorded American Music, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

 

The Music Library also has a large CD collection; you'll find many musical genres available for checkout.

 

Create a Keyword List

The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.

  • Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
  • Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
  • Try boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to link your terms together into a single search.
  • Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
  • Search Google Books for keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.

You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.

Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies

Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the names of popular authors.

Music Librarian

Daryll Stevens's picture
Daryll Stevens
Contact:
The fastest way to reach me is via the "Email Me" link above. You may also reach me at 389-6126, or 389-6560

Keyword Thesaurus

Use all variations of a keyword.

The Library of Congress Authorities and Vocabularies thesaurus will help you find variations of keywords and subject headings.

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu