This collection of previously untranslated and unpublished documents from the Holy Office of the Inquisition in New Spain provides a clear understanding of how the Inquisition originated, evolved, and functioned in the colonial Spanish territories of Mexico and northern Central America. The three sections of documents lay out the laws and regulations of the Inquisition, follow examples of its day-to-day operations and procedures, and detail select trial proceedings.
"Primary sources provide first-hand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic under investigation. They are created by witnesses or recorders who experienced the events or conditions being documented. Often these sources are created at the time when the events or conditions are occurring, but primary sources can also include autobiographies, memoirs, and oral histories recorded later. Primary sources are characterized by their content, regardless of whether they are available in original format, in microfilm/microfiche, in digital format, or in published format."
Video produced by the University of California, San Diego's Social Sciences & Humanities Library.
Researching Primary Sources
from the Spanish Colonial collection, Denver Art Museum
The Americas collection strives to represent the full range and complexity of the Americas history by bringing together key documents that examines political and cultural relationships from a hemispheric perspective. Its goal is to represent the full range and complexity of a multilingual “Americas” that includes Canada, the Caribbean, and Latin America from the beginning of colonization to the present.
The first portion of CRL’s purchase of the complete set of the Archivo General de Centroamérica (Central American Archives, or CAA) has been received and processed. These archives encompass six million pages of original primary source documents (many of which are unique copies) spanning more than three centuries, from 1519 to 1898.
These digital images of Mexican and Argentine presidential speeches from the 19th century represent the second phase of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project. The project's overall goals are to broaden the array of Latin Americanist resources available to students and scholars, to restructure access to these collection on a comprehensive scale and to assist libraries in containing costs.
The posters included in this collection were created by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and services.
These manuscripts, each one unique, provide a window into the beliefs and values of the early Americans. This exhibit focuses on the códices of the Mesoamerican region, extending from central Mexico south to Guatemala.
Women in World History is a project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, and part of World History Matters, with support from the National Endowment for the Humanities