Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Get Started -- Classics Reference Resources
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
Call Number: DE5 .O9 2012 (Second Floor- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization
Call Number: DE5 .C28 2006 (Second Floor- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2006-06-08
Brill's New Pauly
Call Number: DE5 .N3513 2006 v. 1 - 4 (Second Floor- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
Find Articles -- Top Classics Databases
Coverage: 1969 - current. Standard index to monographs, journals and essay collections in classics (Ancient Greek and Roman language, literature, history and religion), covering essentially all books and about 1,500 periodicals published each year in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Russian and Japanese. Citations only, in English or French. Please note: this database has been acquired by Brepolis; our previous subscription with Belles Letres
has expired. Brepolis version on trial until Aug. 14. (DW)
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
L'annee Philologique -- Tips
- "Full Text" searches the full text of the citation (and abstract, if available) -- not the full text of the article.
- Use "Modern Authors" if you want to search Classics scholars by name.
- Search "Ancient Authors and Texts" to find articles about an ancient author or text. A drop-down box will help you select the correct form.
- Combine categories in "Advanced Search" for strategic searching.
- For example, if you're looking for articles about Penelope's weaving in the Odyssey, you could try: "Ancient Authors and Texts" = Homer AND "Full Text" = weaving
Getting the Article
- L'annee Philologique has citations only
- To find the actual article:
- This will lead you to to the article (if the library has access)
- You can also use Find Journals or Citation Linker to track down an article.
- Ask a librarian if you need help!
Get Started -- Environmental Sciences Reference Resources
Check out these reference sources:
Almanac of environmental trends.
CALL # REF. GE150 .A463.
Encyclopedia of environmental ethics and philosophy
CALL # REF. GE42 .E533 2009.
Encyclopedia of environment and society
CALL # REF. HM856 .E53 2007.
Encyclopedia of world environmental history
CALL # REF. GF10 .E63 2004.
Handbook of environmental health
CALL # REF. RA565 .K67 2003.
McGraw-Hill dictionary of environmental science.
CALL # REF. GE10 .M378 2003.
And so many more...
Find Articles -- Top Environmental Science Databases
History of science, technology and medicine
Coverage: N/A. An international bibliography for the history of science, technology and medicine, reflecting the influence of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations.
Coverage: 1982 - current. This resource covers 'all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.'
Scholarly and popular articles, government documents and reports from over 600 titles dealing with the interaction between humans and the environment.
Broad coverage of environment and related subjects, with both full-text and extensive abstract/indexing.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Find books and other resources in Tutt Library.
Find resources in libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. (Allow 3-5 days for delivery)
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu