Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
These are some good article databases for Classics, vaguely in order of usefulness:
- JSTOR coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-5 years
- Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall imposed on them.
- Humanities International Complete coverage: 1929 - current
- A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
- L'année Philologique (citations only, in English or French) coverage: 1969 - current
- Standard index to monographs, journals and essay collections in classics (Ancient Greek and Roman language, literature, history and religion), covering essentially all books and about 1,500 periodicals published each year in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Russian and Japanese.
- International Bibliography Of Art (IBA) coverage: 2008-current
- Bibliographic database of international scholarly literature on western art. Subjects include fine arts in all media, decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
- PEP-WEB: Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing coverage: 1920 - current
- Archive of classic texts and journals in the field of psychoanalysis, including Freud's collected works. PEP-WEB can search for keywords specifically within dreams, dialogs or references.
- TOCS-IN coverage: mostly 1992 - current
- A free service offering tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, some (about 15%) with links to free online articles.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu