Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

Classics: Reference sources

Reference sources

If you’re not sure where to begin, or need some general information on a Classics topic, these reference sources at Tutt Library (some in paper, some online) might help:

Ancient Greece and Rome: An Encyclopedia for Students

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras (Vol. 2: Ancient Greece and Rome 1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E.)

Brill’s New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World, Reference DE5 .N4813 2002 

Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature

Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages (Vol. 1: The Ancient World)

History in Dispute Vol. 20: Classical Antiquity and Classical Studies

Lexicon of Greek Personal Names (LGPN)

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome (2010)  

The Oxford Classical Dictionary, Reference DE5 .O9 2003

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization (1998-)

Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World (2005-)

U*X*L Encyclopedia of World Mythology

Who's Who in the Classical World (2000-)

World Literature and Its Times: Profiles of Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events That Influenced Them

World Eras Vol. 6: Classical Greek Civilization, 800-323 B.C.E.

 

Greek and Latin dictionaries

A Greek-English Lexicon (Liddell, Scott, and Jones), Reference PA445.E5 L6 1996 (plus many other Greek/English dictionaries in with similar call numbers)

Oxford Latin Dictionary, Reference PA2365.E5 O9 (plus many other Latin/English dictionaries with similar call numbers)

Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (1994-)

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites, Reference DE59 .P7

 

Click here for a list of other digital reference sources with the keyword classical

Subject Guide

Kayla Lenkner's picture
Kayla Lenkner
Contact:
(719) 389-6242
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu