Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

Federal Government Resources: Miscellaneous Catalogs and Databases

Help locating what Tutt Library houses along with selected internet resources.

Key Catalogs

Grants

Grants.gov: Search Opportunities

Search full-text; active or archived documents; or by funding opportunity, date, CFDA number, category, funding instrument type, eligibility, or agency to find federal funding opportunities.

Publications

FedSys

  • single search interface for databases or browse titles
  • including the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, Congressional Bills, United States Code, Economic Report of the President, and many others

Browse Government Accountability Office

  • Search GAO reports and legal products
  • from 1970 along with selcted publications as far back as 1922 (not comprehensive)
  • published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications

Defense databases

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)

  • database of significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals
  • Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously.

Homeland Security Digital Library

  • scholarly research in the area of Homeland Security
  • Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports; Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports; Congressional hearings, reports, documents, resolutions and public laws; Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports; Inspector General reports; Presidential directives, executive orders and reports; Office of Management and Budget (OMB) reports; theses and research reports from federal/defense schools; and reports from major federal commissions.

Research and Development Descriptive Summaries (RDDS)

  • information on Research, Development, Test and Evaluation programs and Program Elements
  • for the Department of Defense

Staff College Automated Military Periodicals Index (SCAMPI)

  • database to articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning, national and international politics, and on so
  • 1985 thru the present

Science

NTIS - National Technical Information Service: Search

Freely accessible version of the searchable catalog of government research information products.

Public Technical Reports

A searchable database of unclassified documents in the Defense Technical Information Center's Technical Reports Collection, including the full-text of many documents.

Science Accelerator

From the Department of Energy, the site can be used to search: electronic full-text research reports (including DOE scientific and technical information); energy citations; ongoing research project summaries; DOE accomplishments in science; e-prints (journal article pre-publication drafts, scholarly papers, and more); proceedings and papers from science conferences; and more.

Science Inventory

From the Environmental Protection Agency, the site provides a searchable, Agency-wide catalog of science activities such as research, technical assistance and assessments, along with peer-reviewed products.

Science.gov

A gateway to selected authoritative science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. The web pages and the databases can be searched individually or simultaneously from the search page. The site also includes an Image Search feature as one of its Special Collections.

WorldWideScience.org

"A global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals." From the U.S. Department of Energy and the WorldWide Science Alliance.
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu