Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Congressional Bills and Resolutions (Full Text)
Congressional Bills and Resolutions in Full Text
Legislative Histories and Bill Tracking
Statutes (Public Law)
Bills become Public Laws which are bound sequentially in the order they were signed into law into the U.S. Statutes at Large.
United States Code (USC)
- is the law "as amended" divided into 50 titles (not all of which are currently in use)
- is the proceedings of the U.S. Congress; there were several preceeding titles.
- for the Senate and House they eventually become part of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set; they present legislative intent of bills and frequently contain statistics and useful background.
- these also become part of the U.S. Serial Set; in recent years they are often signing statements of the President.
Congressional Hearings and Committee Prints
are published version of testimony as well as materials submitted to the committees
U.S. Congressional Serial Set and American State Papers
- now contain congressional Reports and Documents; previously other congressional and executive branch materials were incorporated including annual reports of executive agencies and statistical compilations (from 1837). Later a retrospective series, the American State Papers covering 1789-1838, was published to incorporate earlier materials.
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation:
U.S. Congressional Documents & Debates, 1774-1873
- full text of the 1st through 42nd Congresses
- Congressional Record (House Journal, Senate Journal and Senate Executive Journal, Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, & Congressional Globe)
- Statutes at Large
- also documents on the Continental Congress and constitutional debates (1774-89) in the Journals of the Continental Congress, Farrand's Records of the Federal Convention of the Federal Constitution (Elliot's Debates)
- selected documents from the US Serial Set.
National Constitution Center
- “disseminate information about the United States Constitution on a non-partisan basis"
For CC users - select from database A-Z list
Provides access to congressional and legislative information. Includes information about members of congress like voting records, addresses, etc.
Congressional Research Service reports
Coverage: N/A. Non-partisanship and in-depth analysis of public policy issues on topics under study by Congress all under 50 pages.
Coverage: Nov. 1991 - current. This weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
CQ voting and elections collection: expert analysis, demographics, and data
Coverage: N/A. An elections database covering presidential, congressional and gubernatorial elections, campaigns, political parties, voters and demographics. Includes historical and modern data, analyses of elections and voting behavior, explanations of electoral process and reforms, census and district demographics, key events and issues, and much more.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu