Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Browse by place or historical event. Like many primary source databases, streaming music databases offer robust browsing options.
You can download music from Tutt Library's music databases to your MP3 player for 24-hours worth of playtime.
- American Song
- American Song is an aural history
database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's
past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners,
immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the
database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns,
Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests,
and more. Currently it includes 4,058 albums, equaling 68,981 tracks;
more tracks will be added regularly.
- Music Online
- Music Online is the broadest and most
comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your
library's Alexander Street Press music databases. CC subscribes to 6
streamed-audio databases; you can search these (American Song, Classical
Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Garland Encyclopedia of World
Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libaries)
all at once using this tool.
What's in Store
Cripple Creek from Wayne Erbsen: Front Port Favorites, 10th Century American Classics (American Song/Alexander Street Press)
When the Colorado Rises from Folk Songs of the Colorado River (Music Online / Alexander Street Press)
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu