Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

HY200 Colorado and Its Histories: Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories

Search Tip

Browse by place. It's the fastest, easiest way to search most of these databases. You can narrow your search to Colorado and then to towns within the state.

What's in Store

Letter from Euphenia Johnson to Elizabeth Howard Johnson; written from 1915 North Cascade Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries

Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Manuscripts

Early Encounters In North America
Coverage: 1474 - 1800's
Full text works by 1,400+ authors in the form of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between American Indians, Europeans, Americans, and Africans in all areas of North America. Offers advanced searching and browsing of people, events, flora, fauna and more.

In The First Person
Coverage: mostly 19th and 20th century
Find primary-source, first person accounts such as oral histories, diaries, etc. Indexes Alexander Street databases (via CC subscription) and material freely available on the Web.

Manuscript Women's Letters And Diaries
Coverage: 1719 - 1976
Growing collection of writings of women from the 18th-20th centuries, drawn from the American Antiquarian Society. Offers advanced browsing and searching, and high-quality scans. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, And Oral Histories
Coverage: 1784 - 2004
100,00 pages of letters, diaries, oral histories, interviews and other personal narratives by 2,000+ authors. Some audio recordings are available. Material is organized for advanced browsing and searching. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.

North American Women's Letters And Diaries
Coverage: 1675 - 2002
150,000+ pages of diaries and letters from over 1,300 women, supplemented with biographies and bibliographies. Browse and search by detailed factors like author, race, occupation, age at first childbirth, year written, and geographical setting. Cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.

Oral History Online
Coverage: 1930 - 2008
Growing index to 2,700+ collections of oral history in English from around the world; 280,000+ pages by over 9,000 individuals and pointers to thousands of audio/video files. Browse the Table of Contents by repository, interview, date, place, event or subject. Advanced search allows for detailed searching by factors like names, ages, historical events discussed, and more.

Social And Cultural History
Coverage: 1558 - 2005
Cross-searchable collection of databases containing letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs and autobiographies. The focus is on personal narratives written or published in North America. Offers advanced browsing and searching of date, place, author/speaker, interviewer, event, subject and more. Indexes some or all materials of North American Women's Letters and Diaries; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; Black Thought and Culture; Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries.
Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu