Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

HY200 Colorado and Its Histories: Newspapers

Search Tip

Limit by newspaper section. Many newspaper databases let you limit your search to certain sections of the newspaper, such as features, editorials, ads, obits, and cartoons.

Newspapers

Chronicling America
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690 - present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection

Search over 90 historic Colorado newspapers from 49 cities and 36 counties throughout the state, published in English, German, Spanish, or Swedish. The database includes digital versions of newspapers found on microfilm at the Colorado Historical Society’s Stephen H. Hart Library that were published between 1859 and 1928. New material is usually added once a month. Some issues of the Colorado Springs Gazette are included.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Coverage: 1808-1980
Spanish and bilingual Spanish/English newspapers published in the United States from the 19th to 20th centuries. Great source of historical information and culture; also a source of reporting on events in Spanish-speaking countries that were not necessarily covered in English-language newspapers. Part of America's Historical Newspapers.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Coverage: 1800's
Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

Historical Newspaper Databases

What's in Store

Boulder Daily Camera

December 9, 1896

Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu