Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

HY200 Colorado and Its Histories: Databases

Search Tip

Use all variations of a keyword.

Today we say Civil War but, in the past, it has been called the American Civil War, War between the States, War of Secession, and War of the Rebellion. If you searched only the term Civil War, you might miss valuable documents written during a different era.

The Library of Congress Authorities and Vocabularies thesaurus will help you find variations of keywords and subject headings.

General Databases

The American Civil War
Coverage: 1848 - 1897
100,000+ pages of diaries, letters and memoirs by 2000+ authors. Includes many previously unpublished manuscripts. Organized for detailed browsing and searching. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.

American Memory
Digitized collections from the Library of Congress, including oral histories, letters, photographs, documents.

The American West
Coverage: 1700's-1900's
Selected manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.

Black Thought And Culture
Coverage: 1700 - 2006
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,200+ sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes non-fiction works, interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material. Also includes the Black Panther newspaper from 1967-1980. Allows for advanced browsing and searching by author, race, gender, year, subject, nationality, etc. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.

Women And Social Movements In The United States 1600-2000
Coverage: 1600 - 2000
Growing collection of documents related to women and social movements in U.S. history. Includes primary source documents, images, dictionary of movements, biographical dictionary, chronology, reviews, notes, and teaching tools. Organized for in-depth browsing and searching.

What's in Store

Map of the Gold and Silver Region of Pike's Peak

The American West

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu