Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Coverage: 1895 - current. Indexes core sociology journals dating back to 1895. More focused on sociology as a discipline than Sociological Abstracts.
Social Sciences Abstracts With Full Text
Coverage: 1972 - current. International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Broader coverage than SocIndex. Upgraded to full text version in July 2017.
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Gender Studies Database
Coverage: pre-1972 - current. Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, and freely available full text articles & documents on the Web.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Coverage: 1975 - current. Covering all aspects of sport, fitness, recreation, and related fields.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Books & e-books
Find books and e-books related to Sociology (keyword or subject)
Major journal platforms for Sociology
Please note that we do not subscribe to all journal titles on Sage; our access comes through a journal package negotiated by the Colorado Alliance consortium. With extra assistance from the College, the library was able to purchase the Sage Deep Backfiles so that access for many titles goes back to the first volume published. For any journals you can't find in Sage, please try JSTOR, or request articles through ILL.
Colorado College subscribes to Arts & Sciences journal archives collections I-XII (One through Twelve) plus Life Sciences and Ecology & Botany II collections, and a few current journals. We do not subscribe to JSTOR e-books; there are some freely accessible e-books on JSTOR, however.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu