Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

FG308 Advanced Topics in Feminism & Gender Studies: Black Feminist Thought: Home

Use Tiger to find books & more at Colorado College

Search Tiger by 

Tiger, the CC library catalog, will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.

Use Prospector to request books & more from across Colorado


If you can't find a book, DVD, CD, or other item you need in Tiger, you can use Prospector to search libraries across Colorado and then request that they be sent to the Tutt Library circulation desk for you to check out here.

Use WorldCat to request books from throughout the U.S.

 

 

When the materials you want are not available in TIGER or Prospector, you can search in WorldCat and request them through Interlibrary Loan.

  • WorldCat lists library holdings throughout the nation
  • Items usually arrive in 5-10 business days

      Find the Full Text

        Searches for
      Full Text

      If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.

      Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available

      1) in another Tutt database
      2) in print (second floor)
      3) through Interlibrary Loan 

      Your LibGuide for Black Feminist Thought


      Welcome to the Black Feminism research guide!

       

      Recommended books can be found in this and other research guides.  For articles and other resources found online, you can use the links of this page.  Just use the tabs above to start your research!

      Women Empowered

      The National Visionary Leadership Project (NVLP) produced this short (5 minute) clip featuring a number of contemporary African American Women visionaries, including Maya Angelou, Elizabeth Catlett, Shirley Chisholm, Ruby Dee, Coretta Scott King, Faith Ringgold, Sonia Sanchez, Toni Morrison, and many others.

      Database Search Strategies

      Always think about different  ways to say the same thing.  Start with keywords to describe your topic; within results, look at the abstract and subject headings to identify additional keywords to use.

      Search Strategies:
      Connectors - or/and do not have to be capitalized.
      Start with keywords (place phrases in quotes), use connectors (or / and) and look for the subject headings specific to each database.

       Once you find a few relevant articles, look at the subject headings and revise the search if necessary by limiting to subjects and/or incorporating the subject words into the search.

      place phrases in quotes use * for truncation
      "political participation" role* = role or roles
      "mass media" feminis* = feminism or feminist
      "gender role" female* = female or females
      "gender identity" sex* = sex or sexism or sexual or sexist
      "feminist theory" ethnic* = ethnic or ethnicity
      "abortion rights" right* = right or rights
      ethnograph* = ethnography or ethnographic

       

      use - or - to connect synonyms:  use - and - to connect concepts:
      ("gender role*" or "gender identity")
      abortion and (law or legislation)
      law or legislation
      immigration and education and women
      policies or policy
      globalization and china and women

       

       

      put it all together:
      media and women and (muslim or islam*)
      women and "social conditions" and "united states"

       

       

       

      Need Research Help?

      Search Hints

      Keep in mind these search tips when conducting your research:

      In women-focused databases, there’s usually no need to put “women” into your search, except where “women” is already part of the term.

      In other databases, search for women (OR girls, if relevant) as one concept adding AND to your specific concept, such as hip hop, distance runners, or sitcoms. [You don’t need to put in “women” if your concept already contains a “women word” (ex: chick flicks, mothers, lipstick lesbians), or a name (ex: Madonna, Mother Theresa, etc.)]

      Search for synonyms or words that are close enough in meaning to be relevant to your search. Connect them with OR (ex: patriarchy or androcentrism or sexism; consumers or marketing or selling or product)

      Search for word stems (truncate*) where any ending of the stem would be useful. Ex: consum* finds consume, consumer, consumption, etc.

      Read critically, especially free web material. Consider 1) who wrote the item, 2) the purpose of the site – is it trying to sell you something, convince you, share a particular point of view, inform/explain, etc., and 3) the accuracy of the information.

      Google for Keywords




      Search Google to find keywords related to your topic.

      Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu