From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
Provides coverage of the Asian American experience and impact from the 18th century to the present day. More than 35 million primary documents from diverse sources and perspectives, both historical and contemporary. A fully searchable online resource, updated daily. -- NewsBank
Coverage: 1700 - 2006. Black Thought and Culture contains 1,200+ sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes non-fiction works, interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material. Also includes the Black Panther newspaper from 1967-1980. Allows for advanced browsing and searching. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History
Disabilities in Society, Seventeenth to Twentieth Century demonstrates how society has presented and treated individuals with disabilities historically. Materials in this collection include personal memoirs, records of treatments, methods of education, and forms of remediation. Reports and proceedings of organisations and institutions that sought to help or heal those with disabilities are included, as well as records of policies and programs. Through this collection, researchers will grasp the many forms of institutional discrimination, political exclusion, and social control under which disabled individuals struggled. Materials chronicle how individuals were classified and treated and how some overcame physical or mental challenges to defy perceptions of being disabled. -- Gale
"This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness." -- EBSCO
HeinOnline Academic includes multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world.
Classical music streaming platform that also includes a pronunciation guide for musical terms, composer and artist names; an interactive dictionary with music examples; study guides to supplement music curricula; and aural training exercises.
South Asia Archive is a landmark collection of 4.5 million pages of documents from across the Indian subcontinent from 1700 to 1953, originally collected by the South Asian Research Foundation (SARF). It’s the largest collection of books, journals, and documents from the region, covering India, Pakistan, Burma, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh, now online, indexed, and searchable for the first time. On the Coherent South Asia Commons platform. -- Coherent Digital
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a searchable database containing most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. It contains more than 110 million words from over 10,000 works associated with 4,000 authors and is constantly updated with new features and texts. The Abridged TLG®, a sub-corpus of this database, and the bibliographical database Canon of Greek Authors and Works are open to the public. **Colorado College community members must create an account on the TLG site using your @coloradocollege.edu email address. **
International daily newspaper based in New York City focused on business and economics. Users must create a WSJ account. This is a one-time process, and then your email and password can be used to login to WSJ.com directly instead of going through the activation URL each time. NOTE: If you are a student, staff member, or faculty member with a personal WSJ subscription and would like to convert it to the Colorado College sponsored WSJ subscription, please call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel.
