Scholarly v. PopularCriteria Chart
Search Tips
Aztec/MexicaMayaMixtecOlmecTarascansZapotecValley of Mexico
Search Tips
This is the "Get Started" page of the "AN103/FYE103 Mesoamerica: Introduction to Archaeology and the Culture Area" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

AN103/FYE103 Mesoamerica: Introduction to Archaeology and the Culture Area   Tags: anthropology, archaeology  

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2013 URL: http://coloradocollege.libguides.com/an103 Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Sources on Ancient Mesoamerica

This guide offers just of few of the resources available to help you begin researching topics related to Ancient Mesoamerica.

Many thanks to Reza Peigahi, Anthropology Librarian at Sacramento State University Library, who created and generously shared this guide with Tutt Library. The Internet Resources page was designed by Diane McDonnell at CSUS.

Scholarly vs. Popular: What's the Difference

 

Create Context: Background Information

Encyclopedias and other reference books provide succinct overviews that put topics into context. The resources are a great way to

  • Brainstorm ideas
  • Narrow an existing topic
  • Glean keywords for catalog and database searches
  • Leverage bibliographies for the next stage of your research
 

Credo Reference

 

Credo Reference is a large collection of online reference sources that includes conceptual mapping, topic pages and article links.

 

General Reference Sources

Cover Art
American Indians - Harvey Markowitz consulting editor
Call Number: Reference E76.2 .A45 1995
The three volumes of the American Indians cover the native people of North America and Mexico.

Cover Art
The Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas - Bruce G. Trigger, et al.
Call Number: Reference E77 .N62 1996 v.2 pt.1 and E 77 .N62 1996 v.2 pt. 2
Volume 2, parts one and two deal specifically with the peoples of Mesoamerica.


Cover Art
Handbook of Middle American Indians - Robert Wauchope, general editor
Call Number: Reference F1434 .H3
The sixteen volumes of the Handbook of Middle American Indians is the major source on the peoples, geography, archaeology, and ethnology of mesoamerica.

Cover Art
Handbook of Middle American Indians - Supplement - Victoria Reifler Bricker, general editor
Call Number: Reference F1434 .H3 suppl
The six volume supplement to the Handbook of Middle American Indians

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures: The Civilizations of Mexico and Central America - David Carrasco, editor in chief
Call Number: Reference F1218.6 .O95 2001
A useful three-volume set on ancient Mesoamerica

Natural Sciences Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
Rebecca Harner
Contact Info
Best to email me, but I'm also reachable by phone at 719-389-6672.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip